NY Panthers Win CYP Tournament

PORT CHESTER, NY - Tuesday's Championship game of 67th annual William R. Gallagher CYP Tournament at Our Lady of Mercy Church had a lighter than usual crowd.
With the local Westchester, NY and Rockland, NY teams absence in this last contest, a normally packed room with many available seats. It would be the NY Panthers vs. CT Select and when the "No blood, no foul tournament was over, the squad from NY would have the last men standing with a 76-59 victory.
The NY Panthers, comprised mostly of NYC players, listed Joshua Wilcombe, Aaron Cust, Tykei Hallman, Femi Olujobi, Wesley Myers, Joshua Doughty, Jarrel Marshal, Jordan Washington, Isaiah Whitehead, and Mical Ryan Boyd.
Their opponent, CT Select the Connecticut based team's roster listed: Bobby Bynum, Walter Wright, Richard Kennedy, Tyshawn Rogers, Raequan Clarke, Dante Gittens, Chan Williams Bay, Jordan Butler and >Chaise Daniels.
In the opening quarter the Panthers took a commanding lead early, Ct Select scored only six points at the 1:15 mark. Jordan Washington (24pts) would score the final two points as the minutes ran down in this quarter and the Panther would lead, 17-6.
CT Select inched up on the Panthers lead with 4:30 remaining, 21-16. Washington scored two back-to-back baskets and Isaiah Whitehead (21pt) would add two more after the rebound, increasing the Panthers lead back to 9.
Walter Wright (16pts) scores two points at the line after a foul is called and Tyshawn Rogers (16pts) put down one hand basket. With a minute remaining Joshua Doughty hits a long three and at the end of the half, Ct Select was still down, 36-21.
With 2:30 remaining into the third quarter Rogers scores back-to-back baskets in an attempt to lift his team who still trailed, 47-32. Wilcombe's two hand slam at the buzzer place a period on the quarter in a game that was all but over, 52-35.
Leading 52-35 to begin the final stanza, the Panthers maintained a twenty point lead with two minutes remaining in the quarter and the Panthers would go on to win by 17 points
MVP Isaiah Whitehead
Sportsmanship award Dante Gittens
All Tournament team
Walter Wright
Joshua Doughty
Tyshawn Rogers
Jordan Washington
Raequan Clarke
Isaiah Whitehead
Image unavailable osqizb
Click Here to view this Link.