football Edit

HoopHall Classic Teams Announced

SPRINGFIELD, MA - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the high school teams on Monday for the 2013 Spalding Hoophall Classic. Springfield College will host the games at Blake Arena from January 17-21 during Martin Luther King, Jr. weekend.
The nation's premier event will once again showcase the top high school basketball teams from across the country. This year's elite matchups including Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, VA) vs. Simeon High School (Chicago, IL), Prestonwood Christian Academy (Plano, TX) vs. Archbishop Mitty High School (San Jose, CA), New Hampton School (New Hampton, NH) vs. Huntington Prep (Huntington, WV) and Montverde Academy (Montverde, FL) vs. Findlay College Prep (Henderson, NV).
Other legendary programs scheduled to participate include St. Benedict's Prep (Newark, NJ), Montrose Christian (Rockville, MD), DeMatha Catholic High School (Hyattsville, MD) and St. Anthony High School (Jersey City, NJ), coached by Hall of Famer Bob Hurley, Sr.
The 2013 Spalding Hoophall Classic continues its tradition of talented players by featuring several ESPNU's Top 100 in the class of 2013, including top 10 stars Andrew Wiggins (Huntington Prep/Huntington, WV), Jabari Parker (Simeon High School/Chicago, IL), Julius Randle (Prestonwood Christian Academy/Plano, TX), Aaron Gordon (Archbishop Mitty High School/San Jose, CA), Noah Vonleh (New Hampton School/New Hampton, NH) and Kasey Hill (Montverde Academy/Montverde, FL) as well as 2014 standouts Jahlil Okafor (Whitney Young High School/Chicago, IL) and sole New Yorker Dakari Johnson (Montverde Academy/Montverde, FL). The event also includes the nation's No. 1 girl's player, Mercedes Russell from Springfield (Oregon) High School.
"We are excited once again to be hosting the nation's best high school basketball event, with a lineup of players and teams that will bring fans, media and basketball enthusiasts from around the country to Springfield College," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.
Last year's games were highlighted by Shabazz Muhammad (UCLA), Nerlens Noel (Kentucky), Brandon Ashley (Arizona), Kyle Anderson (UCLA) and Anthony Bennett (UNLV). Spalding Hoophall Classic alumni made their mark in this year's 2012 NBA draft including No. 1 draft pick Anthony Davis (New Orleans Hornets), Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (Charlotte Bobcats), Austin Rivers (New Orleans Hornets) and Tony Wroten Jr. (Memphis Grizzlies).
"Spalding is proud to partner with the Basketball Hall of Fame to support the Hoophall Classic, both of which epitomize the elite level of basketball that our brand strives for, " said Gary Barfield, EVP of Russell Brands, LLC.
In addition to the game, Spalding also sponsors the Spalding Skills Challenge which features three events including the Spalding Half-Court Hustle, Spalding 3-Point Shootout and the Spalding Slam Dunk Contest at Blake Arena on Sunday, January 20th.
Click Here to view this Link.